EMPOWER: New Countywide Youth Coalition

lcroasdellCEASe News

As part of the Scott County Drug Free Communities (DFC) Support Program initiative, a new countywide youth coalition has formed. The founding members chose the name EMPOWER and hope the NEW coalition encourages and equips Scott County youth with tools to live healthy, safe and drug-free lives.

Founding members of EMPOWER are Byron Holland, Eliza Mount, Dylan Baker, Taylor Stewart, Madelyn Shelton, Destinie Achelpohl, Olivia Minor and Dalton Baker (not pictured). All EMPOWER initiatives will be youth driven and youth managed. Jamie Raichel, DFC Coordinator and advisor to EMPOWER says, “The youth of Scott County are amazing. They are energetic, driven and have innovative ideas about how to make a difference. I can’t wait to see how EMPOWER positively impacts the community.”

EMPOWER is an all-inclusive youth coalition. All Scott County youth ages 12-18 are welcome to join. The next EMPOWER meeting is Monday, April 16th at 5:45 pm at the LifeLong Learning Center, 1092 W. Community Way, Scottsburg.

Contact Jamie Raichel at jamie.raichel@scottcountypartnership.org or (812) 722-8484 for more information.