Get Educated Slide

Rx Drugs Prevention Information

How Can I Keep My Child/Relatives/Friends from Abusing Prescription Medications?

Safeguard all drugs at home.  Take out enough for a week supply and lock up the rest in a safe or a Bank Safety Deposit Box.  Monitor quantities and control access.  Fifty-five percent of all Rx drug abusers are getting them from a relative or friend.

  • Take note of how many pills are in a bottle or pill packet, and keep track of refills.  This goes for your own medication, as well as for your teen and other members of your household.
  • If you find you have to refill a medication more often than expected, there could be a real problem–someone may be taking your medication without your knowledge.
  • If your teen has been prescribed a drug, be sure you control the medication, and monitor dosage and refills.
  • Set clear rules for teens and drug use, including not sharing medications and always following the medical provider’s advice and dosages.  IT IS AGAINST THE LAW TO ALLOW SOMEONE ELSE TO TAKE YOUR MEDICATIONS or FOR YOU TO TAKE ANYONE ELSE’S MEDICATION.
  • Make sure you and your teen use Rx drugs only as directed by a medical provider and follow instructions for over-the-counter (OTC) products carefully.  This includes taking the proper dosage and not using with other substances w/o a medical provider’s approval.
  • No one should ever take Rx or OTC drugs with street drugs or alcohol.  If you have any questions about how to take a drug, call your family physician or pharmacist.

Source: www.theantidrug.com

All Medications (including controlled) can be disposed of 24/7:
Scott County Sheriff’s Department Lobby
111 S. First St.
Scottsburg, IN 47170

Austin Police Department
127 N. Highway 31
Austin, IN 47102 

Links to Other Community Initiatives:

[PDF Download] A Community Based Study of Opioid Use Behaviors in a Rural Indiana County

Alcohol Related Information

Indiana Social Hosting Laws and Consequences

As a parent, it is against the law to provide alcohol to teens under age 21 under any circumstances, even in your own home, even with their parents’ permission. It is illegal to knowingly provide a place for a person under the age of 21 to consume or possess alcohol or to allow this to occur on your premises, even if you haven’t provided the alcohol itself.

According to the Scott County Prosecuting Attorney: With minors 18 years of age or older, you could face a maximum sentence of 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. With minors UNDER the age of 18, you could face a maximum sentence of up to 1 year in jail and a $5000 fine. Others can sue you if you give alcohol to anyone under 21 and they, in turn, hurt someone, hurt themselves or damage property. Officers can take any alcohol, money or personal property used in conjunction with the offense.

Report underage drinking parties to local law enforcement: Scott County Sheriff’s Department Anonymous Tip Line (812) 752-7898.

Anonymous Law Enforcement Tip Lines

Please report any illegal or suspicious drug activity to the following Scott County ANONYMOUS TIP LINES: